Mount Qiyun - Qiyun Shan

Mount Qiyun Title


Mount Qiyun (齐云山 literally "Cloud-High Mountain") is a mountain and national park located in Xiuning County in Anhui Province, China. It lies some 33 kilometres (21 mi) to the west of Huangshan City and is known as one of the Four Sacred Mountains of Taoism. Noted for its numerous inscriptions and tablets, as well as monasteries and temples, the highest point of the mountain rises to 585 metres (1,919 ft). It is a scenic area of mountain with the characteristics of Taoist culture and red morning/evening glow. Qiyun Mountain was listed as a cultural relics site under the provincial protection in 1981, and listed by the State Council in 1994 as one of the cultural relics sites under the national protection.   


Qiyun Mountain consists of 9 peaks, including the Qiyun Peak, Baiyue Peak, Qishan Peak, Wanshou Peak, etc. The scenic area is 110 square kilometers. Qiyun Mountain is famous for its steep mountain, clear water, oddly shaped stones and tranquil caves. The scenic spots include the Yuehua Street, the Yunyan Lake and the Loushang Building. Qiyun Mountain has 36 steep peaks, 44 oddly shaped stones, 18 tranquil caves, 27 waterfall caves of springs, 14 pools, 16 pavilions, 537 inscriptions and stone tablets, 3 stone decorated archways, 5 stone bridges and 33 temples and monasteries.


There are many caves under the cliffs. These caves are used to enshrine various statutes of immortals, including the Eight-Immortal Cave, the Yuantong Cave, the Arhat Cave, the Yujun Cave and the Wenchang Cave. The scenic spot of these caves is one of the most important parts of scenic spots of Qiyun Mountain. The statutes of Taoist eight immortals are enshrined in the Eight-Immortal Cave. The statue of Nanhai Kwan-yin Buddha is enshrined in the Yuantong Cave. The statue of the Zhenwu Dijun is enshrined in the Arhat Cave, and the statutes of the eighteen arhats are enshrined at both sides too. The statue of Dragon King is enshrined in the Yujun Cave. The statue of Wenqu Star is enshrined in the Wenchang Cave. From the immortal caves of Qiyun Mountain, we can obviously feel the combination of Buddhism, Taoism and Confucianism. There are many stone inscriptions on the cliff of the immortal caves.


Xianglu Peak is in front of the Taisu Palace of the Yuehua Street. The peak is tall and in the shape of an incense burner, so it is called as the Xianglu Peak (peak in the shape of incense burner).


Mount Qiyun 1 Mount Qiyun 2 Mount Qiyun 3
Mount Qiyun 4 Mount Qiyun 5 Mount Qiyun 6
Mount Qiyun 7 Mount Qiyun 8 Mount Qiyun 9
Mount Qiyun 10 Mount Qiyun 11 Mount Qiyun 12
Mount Qiyun 13 Mount Qiyun 14 Mount Qiyun 15
Mount Qiyun 16 Mount Qiyun 17 Mount Qiyun 18
Mount Qiyun 19 Mount Qiyun 20  


mountains, temples